Tuesday, January 27, 2004

ah, one of my all time favorites...

Obituary Note: Joan Aiken, Author of 92 Novels

Adult and children's book author Joan Aiken passed away on January 4
at the age of 79. Popular in both the U.K. and U.S., Aiken wrote in a
variety of genres, including fantasy for adults and children as well
as poetry, plays, horror and short stories. She is perhaps best-known
for her Wolves Chronicles series for children, which began with the
novel The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. The third title in the series,
The Whispering Mountain, won the Guardian's Children's Book Prize in
1968. She also won an Edgar Award in 1972 for Night Fall, a children's

Aiken wrote a total of 92 novels in her lifetime, 65 of them for
children. She was published in the U.S. by Delacorte and Houghton
Mifflin, among others. Her most recent book, Midwinter Nightingale,
was published by Delacorte in June 2003. Her final book, The Witch of
Clattering Shaws, will appear in spring 2005.

No comments: